Idaho Chess Association
Upcoming Events
Southern Idaho Open (Nov 12)
Western Idaho Open (Dec 10-11)
Idaho Closed (Feb 18-20)

About Us
Join Us
Online Registration
Where to Play
Want Ads

Official Publication:

(Mailing Status)

Problem of the Day
Contact Us

Source: The Idaho Statesman, March 2, 1951:

Annual Idaho Chess Tourney Ready for Play

The annual chess tournament to determine the Idaho and Idaho invitational champions will begin in Boise this morning at 9:30 o'clock at the YMCA. C.H. Stewart, chairman of the tournament committee, said Thursday. About 15 chess players from Idaho and surrounding states are expected for the tournament which concludes Sunday.

There will be three sessions today, three Saturday and two Sunday, Stewart said. All will be held at the YMCA.

Sessions the first two days will be from 9:30 a.m. until 12:30 p.m.; 1:30 p.m. until 5:30 p.m., and from 7 p.m. until 11 p.m. Sunday's schedule will consist of the morning and afternoon sessions only, it was announced.

A banquet for players and officials of the tournament will be held Sunday following the final rounds at a place to be announced later, Stewart said.

Trophies made by Herman Dippman, Salt Lake CIty, Utah, chess player who is coming for the tournament, will be given the first and second place winners.

The games will consist of 40 moves in two hours and 20 moves per hour for additional play. Clocks will be used when asked by either player, Stewart said.

The YMCA chess club is host group for the three-day event.

Source: The Idaho Statesman, March 3, 1951:

DON CRAWFORD, Boise, and Laverl Kimpton, Filer, battle it out for the champion title in the Idaho State Chess championship tournament. Kimpton is last year's champion and Crawford is known in chess circles as "The Blind Master."

Source: The Idaho Statesman, March 5, 1951:

Utahan Wins Chess title

Former State Champion Ends Up With Partner For Idaho Honors

Herman Dittman of Salt Lake City won first place in the annual Idaho state chess tourney while LaVerl Kimpton of Filer and Glen Buckendorf tied for high honors of Idaho entrants, according to tourney results announced Sunday night.

Other Idaho entrants who received awards included Don Crawford of Boise, and Bob Harshbarger, Don Murphy and Lloyd Kimpton, all of Twin Falls.

At a banquet at the Lodge, Buckendorf was elected president of the chess association. Murphy was named secretary-treasurer and C.H. Stewart of Boise was selected as tournament committeeman.